Dr. Vijai S Shankar MD.PhD.
Published on www.academ-advaita.com
The Netherlands

26 February 2020

Senses (3)


You live the senses, neither rejecting nor accepting them. Simply live the sense as it is. This has a great implication. Simply embrace any sense totally, not getting into judgement that this is sinful, this is saintly, this is right and this is wrong. This and that is not living the sense.

Every individual will go his own way in life, either living the sense or knowing the sense. The depth of understanding is your doorway to live the sense. No matter what the sense is, knowledge of the sense is not living life as it is. 

Simply smell and you will live smell as it is. And if it is taste, simply taste as it is and you will live taste as it is. And if it is touch simply touch as it is and you will live touch as it is.

If it is seeing simply see as it is and you will live sight as it is. If it is hearing simply listen as it is and you will live hearing as it is. This and that is describing the sense and not living the sense. 

Touch functions in all the five senses and the sense of touch is the greatest barrier for man and woman. This is because only in the sense of touch does the word sin and morality come into it. 

Morality creeps into touch while life is amoral, beyond morality or immorality. Man has not understood the function of touch at all. There will always be some sort of hindrance that prevents man and woman from simply living the senses which draw him or her into it. 

Social stigma will come into play. Be it in the field of knowledge; be it in the field of sight, sound, taste, smell and touch, some sort of social stigma will always prevail.

Social stigma prevents man and woman from experiencing that particular sensation totally. The senses will happen and neither man nor woman makes any sense happen to them. 

The moment you live your senses totally, that which happens to you, strangely enough, will give you a sense of truth, meaning an understanding of truth. It is only the five sensations that give you the truth. Nothing besides that can because everything is known only through the five senses: sight, hearing, smelling, tasting and touch. Wisdom reveals that the five senses in life are present in the five seasons of life, which are spring, summer, autumn, winter and the human mind.

The enlightened live the senses which happen to them.

Author Dr. Vijai S. Shankar
© Copy V. S. Shankar 2019  

Editor’s Note:
The wisdom of the enlightened may bring man closer to who he really is on his journey in life. If it is meant to... Having lived for so long reliant on knowledge acquired through the senses, man has developed a judgemental vocabulary for whatever he meets in his daily life. To put the case frankly, the wise reveal that this vocabulary is a barrier to truth, to man realising who he really is. Deep understanding of this - the sense of understanding - is the priceless gift of the wise towards self-realisation.
Julian Capper. UK

back to articles page